JJA Awards: It’s Already Been A Year?

The members have voted and the Jazz Journalists Association awards ceremony will be held on June 11 in New York City. Winners will be announced in 39 categories of musicians, writers, bloggers, videographers and photographers. Nominees for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz are Jimmy Heath, Muhal Richard Abrams, Paul Motian, Phil Woods and Wayne Shorter; for Musician of the Year, Esperanza Spalding, Jason Moran, Joe Lovano, Sonny Rollins and Vijay Iyer.


Rifftides is pleased to again be nominated for Blog of the Year, an award it won in 2010. The competition is stiff: Patrick Jarenwattanon’s A Blog Supreme, Ethan Iverson’s Do The Math, Howard Mandel’s JazzBeyondJazz and Marc Myers’s JazzWax. Good luck to all.


For details and a list of nominees in all categories see the JJA website.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Reddit