And The 2013 JJA Winners Are…

Willard JenkinsFollowing its May announcement of awards to musicians, the Jazz Journalists Association this week disclosed the winners of its journalism awards for 2013. Congratulations to Willard Jenkins, winner of the award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism, to Patrick Jarenwattananon of National Public Radio Music, winner of the Blog of the Year Award for his A Blog Supreme, and to all of the other winners listed below.

Print Periodical of the Year: 

Website of the Year:

Best Book of the Year: Shall We Play That One Together? The Life and Art of Jazz Piano Legend Marian 
McPartland (St. Martin’s Press), by Paul de Barros

The Helen Dance-Robert Palmer Award for Writing in the Year 2012: Nate Chinen

The Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting in the Year 2012: 
Jim Wilke (Jazz After Hours)

Photo of the Year: 
Lionel Charles Ferbos, by Skip Bolen


Short Form Jazz Video of the Year: Tarbaby–Fanon by Jason Fifield, Slife Productions

For a Rifftides report on the JJA music winners announced last month, go here.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Reddit


  1. Valerie Bishop says

    i’m especially thrilled for Willard who has been feeding us first-class info for such a long time, and to Paul who wrote an amazing bio on Marian. he really did his homework! Congrats to both Willard and Paul and all the other winners.