Ertegun Hall of Fame Winners

Thumbnail image for jazz_lincoln_logo.jpg
Jazz At Lincoln Center has just announced the artists posthumously inducted into its Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame for 2010. They are Bill Evans, Bud Powell, Billy Strayhorn and Sarah Vaughan. Those honored are chosen by vote of a panel of experts from 17 countries.
Jazz at Lincoln Center will present concerts dedicated to the inductees. Here is the schedule:
Intuition: The Music of Bill Evans (May 14-15, 2010)
The Music of Billy Strayhorn (November 5-6, 2010)
The Music of Sarah Vaughan (January 21-22, 2011)
The Music of Bud Powell & Earl Hines (April 29-30, 2011)
Hines was a previous winner, as were 34 others including Louis Armstrong, BillieNesuhi Ertegun.jpg Holiday, Gil Evans, Fats Waller, Ella Fitzgerald, Miles Davis, Mary Lou Williams and Jo Jones. To see the entire list and their photographs, visit the Ertegun Hall of Fame site. The hall is named for the distinguished producer of recordings by musicians from Kid Ory to Ornette Coleman. It was funded by his brother Ahmet, Nesuhi’s partner in Atlantic Records. Nesuhi Ertegun (pictured) died in 1989, Ahmet in 2006.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Reddit