CD:SFJazz Collective

Thumbnail image for 2009_collectivecd.jpgSFJAZZ Collective, Live 2009 (SFJazz). Last year’s tour by the all-star septet was built around their arrangements of music by pianist McCoy Tyner. It also included new compositions by its members, Joe Lovano, Miguel Zenón, Dave Douglas, Robin Eubanks, Renee Rosnes, Matt Pennman and Eric Harland. This two-CD set, recorded in halls across the US, is a tribute to Tyner, offering invigorating playing and writing by members of a younger generation he influences. Among the new pieces, Zenón’s “No Filter” and Rosnes’s “Migrations” stand out.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Reddit