an blog | AJBlog Central | Contact me | Advertise | Follow me:

Breaking: $500,000 Kyoto prize goes to US pianist

The winner of the arts section of the award is Cecil Taylor, pioneer of free jazz.

The last classical winner was Pierre Boulez in 2009. John Cage won in 1989.

Here’s Cecil at work.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


  1. Cecil is 84 now, but still going strong.

an ArtsJournal blog