an blog | AJBlog Central | Contact me | Advertise | Follow me:

And the 2013 Leipzig Bach Medal goes to….

… the conductor and tenor, Peter Schreier. And what a musician.

Schreier, 77, has performed Bach in Leipzig in both capacities and for much of his life. Details here.

Past winners include: Masaaki Suzuki (2012), Herbert Blomstedt (2011), Philippe Herreweghe (2010), Frieder Bernius (2009), Hermann Max (2008), Nikolaus Harnoncourt (2007), Ton Koopman (2006), Sir John Eliot Gardiner (2005), Helmuth Rilling (2004) and Gustav Leonhardt (2003).



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


  1. beaumont says:

    Mr Lebrecht, you summed it up perfectly: “What a musician!”
    the Bach medal is more than deserved

an ArtsJournal blog