an blog | AJBlog Central | Contact me | Advertise | Follow me:

How the wheel turned: Burgled Brodsky Quartet score triumph without scores

Yesterday, the quartet were in despair after their vehicles were broken into in Haarlem and all their music stolen.

Since this was a 40th anniversary tour and they were spinning the wheel on stage to decide what to play, the loss of their entire rep was nothing short of disaster. A programme was somehow put together from borrowed bits and pieces:

Schubert – Quartet Satz (borrowed privately)

Shostakovich no.8 (offered by the Matangi Quartet, then bought in a shop)
- interval -
Theo Verbeij – Spring Rain (e-mailed the scores just now) - Dutch premiere
Debussy – String quartet (borrowed privately).

Then, they went on stage.

‘It was a BLAST!,’ reports one of their friends. ‘Absolutely fantastic concert. We had the Wheel on stage to show everyone what could have been. So the quartet talked about it and the theft and played Schubert Quartett Satz, all very nice, but then the funniest thing happened. We had someone from the audience come up to spin the Wheel, just to get the feel of the thing, and to everyones amazement, Shost 8 came up! Haha, from then on it could only get better. The audience absolutely loved it! Presenter couldn’t be happier and re-invited them immediately.’

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


  1. Jonathan Barker says:

    They are and have always been consumate pros!

  2. I was luck enough to be in the audience Thursday night in Utrecht, and the atmosphere was amazing!
    Two small points: I think Theo Verbey ( prefers this spelling of his name.
    And, while the performance of ‘Spring Rain’ was the Dutch premiere of the Brodsky Quartet’s playing the work in the Netherlands, it’s a piece that they’ve played many times before. It was my first time hearing the Brodsky Quartet live, and I was truly amazed. I hope their music is returned to them.

  3. Hans Valeton says:

    I was there as well, and was amazed at their professionality and resilience. Shos 8 became instead of a dedication to Shos himself, a ‘Requiem for scores lost’. Very very beautifully played, it moved me to tears.
    Thanks, Brodskys!

an ArtsJournal blog